top of page

Dragon Chicken


We are by no means "chicken people". We are cattle ranchers. We raise beef. I was raised by a rancher, who eats beef. Basically BEEF is what's for dinner most nights. But on occasion we get a rebellious streak and get a hankering for chicken.

Ok, I get a hankering for chicken. My cowboy could care less about it. But one thing he loves are the jalapeno poppers his Grandma Jo makes and calls Dragon Tails. So because of it's resemblance to those tasty treats this recipe gets his seal of approval.

Life gets pretty hectic for my family of 5. So I live by a simple set of rules. A recipe that takes more than 2 pots or pans is too complicated for a weeknight. Clothes that require dry cleaning will not make their way into our wardrobes. And white carpet has no place in a ranch house.

This meal definitely fits into my weeknight rules and satisfies my rebellious streak

 

Here is what you need to make Dragon Chicken

Makes 4 (adult) servings

:1 pound thin sliced bacon strips

:4 Chicken breasts (I bought pre-seasoned but you can buy unseasoned and season with salt, pepper and chili powder)

: 8 Ounces of sliced mushrooms

:4-6 Whole jalapeno peppers

: 1 large white onion

: 8 Ounces American processed cheese

: 4 Ounces softened cream cheese

:4 Ounces shredded sharp cheddar cheese

:6 Ounces dried macaroni pasta

 

First things First- Open up your packages of bacon and chicken. Then spray the skillet you'll cook everything in. A nice large skillet works best. Mine has an enamel coating that helps avoid sticking. Preheat over medium heat.

Next you're going to lay out 2-3 strips of bacon on a plate. I use the foam tray the chicken comes on for ease of clean up.

Another fun fact about me, I despise doing dishes! So the less dishes to clean up the better.

Lay your chicken breast in the middle of the strips. Work quickly because your pan is heating up.

Next wrap the chicken in the strips of bacon making sure the ends all wind up on the same side. We will call this the Top side.

Place the newly bacon wrapped chicken breasts Top side down in the skillet. This will sear the ends of the bacon to the chicken so it won't come unwrapped while cooking.

Cook each side for 8-10 minutes or until bacon is crispy and chicken juices run clear. *Poke the chicken just slightly in the middle with a fork to check the juices*

Next you're going to put on a small pot of water for the macaroni. Salt the water well. Pasta NEEDS salt! Don't you just love my cute little pot? A hand me down from my Nana that I treasure. Blemishes and all!

While chicken is sautéing and water is heating, lets get the veggies ready to go.

Halve and seed the jalapeno peppers. I used 8, which made it very spicy. Use as many peppers as your taste buds can handle.

Dice the peppers and white onion.

By now your chicken should be fully cooked. Make sure it is fully cooked before removing from skillet. Set it off to the side in a bowl or plate. I leave mine on the stove to keep it warm.

Then without draining the grease from the skillet, add your veggies. First peppers and onion. And yes there is a cow on my cutting board. Like I said, Beef is life.

Throw in the sliced mushrooms. And simultaneously ignore my non-manicure. Ranch wives with nicely manicured hands are hard to come by.

Mmmmmm..... looking pretty tasty just as it is right?

Cook the veggies on medium heat for about 8 minutes.

Here comes the fun part. You are now going to add 3, count them, THREE kinds of cheese to this dish. Cream cheese, American processed cheese, and sharp cheddar. Be still my beating heart! Lay the American cheese out evenly around the skillet. then add the cream cheese. Be sure you cube up the velveeta and cream cheese. I did not do this and suffered the consequence of having to break it up with my spoon. Don't be like me. You're better than that.

Hey look over to the other side of the stove. I bet your salty water is boiling. Now is the time to add the macaroni.

Add dried macaroni to water and allow it to return to a boil. 5-7 minutes should do it.

In our house we don't do Al Dente pasta. It has to be soft all the way through. But everyone has their own preference so, once the macaroni is to your desired level of being cooked through, drain the water from the pasta. And add the pasta to the main skillet.

Stir it all together and scoop a large portion onto plates. Top with the bacon wrapped chicken breast.

Then comes my favorite part of the day...

Our life is in perpetual motion but this one time of day we can all sit together, thank God for the blessings of the day and enjoy a good meal and time with eachother.

Thank you for checking out this recipe! I pray it blesses you and your family! Until next time, the Secret Ranch Wife


bottom of page